Have I ever told you I’m the most awkward person on the face of this lovely planet of ours? I am! I really am. 

I used to always wonder why people were so awkward around me.  Of course I immediately thought it was that my beauty intimidated everyone. Leaving them stuttering, stammering, and staring at me in awe.  But then it dawned on me.  I’m just awkward and socially weird and people are just at a loss for words when they’re around me.

It turns out I project my awkwardness on to people around me. (Is everyone sick of the word awkward yet?)

Yesterday, for example, I was eating at Chilis and we had a very nice waiter who was new at his job.  He would start to say something and then would stop thinking I was about to talk. It was so awkward.  He did that about three or four times. I’m thinking I must have a look on my face that looks like I’m getting ready to say something. 

I’m even awkward with friends and family.  And don’t even get me started on phone conversations.  I shudder to think how I sound to the person on the other end of the line.

God did not give me the gift of telling a coherent story or being able to explain myself clearly.  But he did give me one gift.  That is the gift of knowing when a person is ready to move on or stop talking to me. 

Like I know at this point in the blog post me and my mother would be the only ones to have read down this far.

If you’ve made it this far–I applaud you.

