There was definitely a theme for this year’s Thanksgiving. The theme this year was: VIRUS (or fungus)!

It all started Tuesday night about 9:00pm. I was sitting there minding my own business at home. I was finally off work for the week and I was going to enjoy my evening with some online window shopping and catching up on the DVR. Out of no where my laptop (which is also my work computer) started doing something strange. Window’s bubbles kept popping up at the bottom of the screen saying it couldn’t find my hard drive. My computer kept restarting and running this weird program in the background. Of course this is five hours after the Help Desk at work closed for the next five days. I finally took it in last night, it’s not my hard drive, it’s a virus. Awesome…

Second, the day before Thanksgiving I find out my mother has shingles. While I’m sure she appreciates me telling the world about this, I feel everyone should know that when I start complaining about the shingles I’m sure to contract around Christmas time you’ll know where they came from. I do feel bad for her, I hear they’re painful, but if I come down with a case of them then she’s in big trouble mister.

Finally, we get a call from the vet on Saturday telling us that Lexi (the pooping dog) does in fact have ringworm. That is FABULOUS. Especially since we’re out-of-town and she’s staying with my parents, one of  whom already has shingles. I knew she had ringworm. I knew it. The vet should have listened to me instead of dismissing it as dry skin. So now, after weeks of petting her and scratching her “dry skin” I’m sure I’ll come down with ringworm on top of my shingles right around Christmas.  

Many wonderful things happened too during Thanksgiving but I’ll save those for another time. For now I’m going to go rub Tough Actin’ Tinactin on my poor ringworm riddled dog.

