Last night my husband and I ventured out to start our Christmas shopping. It was a nice evening filled with Chick-fil-A, Christmas music everywhere, and deep conversation between my husband and I.

As we were minding our own business walking through the mall a man at a kiosk said, “Oh I love your hair!” Thinking I was looking extra good in my hoodie and sweatpants I said, “Oh thank you so much!” And as I turned around I saw what he was selling at his kiosk–hair straighteners. He yelled out, “Do you blow dry or straighten it?”

Me:”Straighten…”

Him: “Oh what do you use?”

Me: “Chi…”

Him: “COME HERE LET ME SHOW YOU WHAT I HAVE!!!!!”

Me: “……No thanks…..”

He had given me an empty compliment about my beautiful hair just so I’d come and talk to him about his straighteners. How dare someone toy with my fragile psyche just to make an extra buck? Ok, so I’d do the same thing, but still it’s different when it happens to you. And what’s the deal with how pushy the kiosk people this time of year? So obnoxious.

And for the record, my hair was looking amazing, now the smell? That’s another story.

